~ The Best Race Ever ~
On Sat the 22nd I ran my 6th half marathon this year and it was amazing! It was the best course we have done hands down. It was the first year they have done a race down Big Cottonwood Canyon and it was perfect! It was super organized and they had the best race swag. It was the prettiest /fastest course we have done. My new favorite which I will run again next year. If you are thinking of doing only one, this should be the one. I beat my best time which so far was 2:09. I finished it in 1:57 and was shocked! I never thought I could come in under 2hours and that wasn't even my goal. I had the blood blisters and beat up body to prove it! It was the sorest I have ever been after a race. I felt like I was the pinata at a birthday party. While running I told myself to keep up with the 2hour pacer until mile 9 and then I could back off, but mile 9 came around and I was still feeling great so I keep on going at that pace. Then at some point I passed the 2 hr pacer, still not sure how that happened. This was a major downhill course which does help your time. I would love to think I could do that again but anything 2:10 or better I'm good with. I did learn that maybe it's not such a bad idea to push yourself to do better than you even think you are capable of. It's a good goal and way to motivate yourself just not sure I can do it again, but I will surely try. My next races are October 20th The Haunted Half and November the 3rd down Snow Canyon in St. George. Going to do a girls road trip for that one. I'm looking forward to that one. The Haunted Half will not have pacers so I am not sure how good I will do. I really rely on them to push me. So far I have ran 9 races this year to meet my goal of 12 races for 2012. I should meet my goal by the end of November.
 |
| My race buddy! Couldn't have done ANY without her. |
 |
| I'm focused. I don't know how to smile |
 |
| Getting ready to cross the finish line |